Sodankylä Geophysical Observatory

SIC Neutral Constituents

Neutrals in SIC are:

N2, O2, O, Ar, He, NO, O2(1Dg), H2O, N, H, CO2, O3, OH, NO2, HO2, NO3, HNO2, CO3, H2, HCl, HNO3, Cl, ClO, CH4, CH3, O(1D), N2O, N(2D), H2O2, CO, CH2O, N2O5

The major neutral species are kept fixed with concentrations given by a combinations of sources, such as the MSISE-90 model (Hedin, J. Geophys. Res., vol. 96, pp. 1159-1172, 1991) and the work by Shimazaki (Minor Constituents in the Middle Atmosphere, Developments in Earth and Planetary Physics, no. 6, D. Reidel Publishing Co., Dordrecht, Holland, 1984). Selected minor species are, however, treated as variables in the modelling.

For the D region, a typical set of modelled neutrals is:

O, NO, N, H, O3, OH, NO2, HO2, NO3

Last modified: 05 July 2019, 07:33:10.

Data privacy notice