Sodankylä Geophysical Observatory

19th International EISCAT Symposium 2019
46th Annual European Meeting on Atmospheric Studies by Optical Methods
19th - 23rd August 2019
Oulu, Finland

U Oulu

The International EISCAT Symposium has, over the years, become the major conference on incoherent scatter radar. The next symposium will take place at the University of Oulu in the City of Oulu, Finland, from 19th to 23rd August 2019. It will be the 19th meeting of its kind, and the third time the conference will visit Finland: the EISCAT Workshop, as it was known then, took place in Saariselkä, Lapland, in 1993 and in Mariehamn, Åland Islands, in 2007.

This year, the symposium will be held jointly with the 46th Annual European Meeting on Atmospheric Studies by Optical Methods (46AM, also known as "The Optical Meeting"). There is a lot of synergy between both meetings, since many scientists use optical as well as radar and other data to study the atmosphere. This joint meeting builds up on the very positive experience we had with the first joint meeting, which took place in September 2015 in Hermanus, South Africa.

The joint EISCAT Symposium and Optical Meeting will be preceded by the International EISCAT Radar School, which will take place 12th to 17th August 2019 at Pikku-Syöte, some 145 km east of Oulu.

Timetable: The meeting will start on Monday morning, 19th August, at 09:00h, and it will end on Friday, 23rd August, at midday.

Special Issue

NOTE: The deadline for submissions for the Special Issue on the joint 19th International EISCAT Symposium and 46th Annual European Meeting on Atmospheric Studies by Optical Methods is extended to 31st August 2020.

The Special Issue will be published in Annales Geophysicae, editors are Andrew Kavanagh, Noora Partamies, Juha Vierinen, and Daniel Whiter.


The programme and abstract book have been published here.

Science Programme Committee

Anita Aikio, University of Oulu, Finland (chairperson); Ian McCrea, Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, UK; Yasunobu Ogawa, NIPR, Japan; Dan Whiter, University of Southampton, UK; Noora Partamies, UNIS, Norway; Andrew Kavanagh, British Antarctic Survey, UK; Björn Gustavsson, University of Tromsø, Norway; Mike Rietveld, EISCAT, Sweden; Oscar van der Velde, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Barcelona, Spain

Local Organising Committee

Thomas Ulich (SGO, U Oulu, chair), Anita Aikio (Ionosph. Phys., U Oulu), Jyrki Manninen (SGO, U Oulu), Mikko Orispää (SGO), Heikki Vanhamäki (Ionosph. Phys., U Oulu), Ilkka Virtanen (Ionosph. Phys., U Oulu)


For more information on EISCAT, EISCAT_3D and regular updates, please refer our outreach channels:

Last modified: 13 July 2020, 07:13:27.

Data privacy notice