Sodankylä Geophysical Observatory


Finnish pulsation magnetometer chain constains six three-component search coil magnetometer stations in Finland (Sodankylä,Kilpisjärvi, Ivalo, Rovaniemi, Oulu and Nurmijärvi.) Instrumentation of the chain wa renewed 2002-2003.Stations are timed by GPS system and sampling rate of the data is 40Hz. One instrument was deployed to Barentsburg in July 2005 in co-operation with Polar Geophysical Observatory, Russia and University of Leicester. Part of the instrumentation of Barentsburg station was destroyed in the fire at the observatory building in January 2010.

Station coordinates and related parameters can be found here.

Finnish pulsation magnetometer chain
Location of the Finnish pulsation magnetometer chain.

Last modified: 05 July 2019, 07:28:27.